Locked Doors? God is in control!

As I’m writing this, my child has a body temperature of 39 degrees. Paracetamol seems ineffective. He’s had fever since yesterday while our country is in alert of Dengue.

I stand firm that God is in control. He cares for us and He is our Helper.

Let me tell you four instances to prove it. There were two instances that concerned me being locked in two different bathrooms due to defective knobs. And there were two times wherein I couldn’t get to my son due to locked doors.

You see, more often than not, Zach and I are the only ones home. We used to live in a studio type room in a five-story condo somewhere in Metro Manila. One windy night, my husband, Eric, was at work 13 kilometers away (approx).  Zach was asleep. And I was taking the trash out when a strong wind blew and closed the door behind me. I turned the knob and it was locked!

Immediately, I worried about him that he might wake up any moment, crawl around the house, or who knew what he would touch or get that might hurt him! And oh, the balcony door that was very close to where he slept was open! He might crawl his way there and nooooooooooo!!!

Our studio was on the top floor. The occupants of the other two units were not present most of the time. Thank God that at that specific moment when I needed help, one was there inside their room. I knocked, told her my situation, and asked to borrow her phone. I called my husband up to let him know but then he’s far away so I had to do something quick. I couldn’t wait for his return to use his keys to open our door. I went down the building and got a hold of the caretaker.

I really thank God that there was someone in the unit next to ours. The caretaker asked her permission to enter their room and go to their balcony. From their balcony, he accessed a ledge that led him to our unit’s balcony. He entered our unit and opened the door for me. Thank God that the caretaker wasn’t afraid of heights! God is good!!!

Then, our small family moved to a house in the province. Zach was around 2 years old. It was probably our second or third night in our new home when Zach got interested in closing the bedroom door and pressed the lock!! I was in the living area and my keys were in the bedroom! Eric was 75 kilometers away! The window in the bedroom was locked. There was no way I could have solved the problem alone.

Zach started panicking and crying. He was calling me and trying to turn the knob in vain. The room was warm! Oh my goodness! I was afraid he would be so stressed and pass out! I barely knew anyone in the neighborhood! I called my parents up but they were 20 minutes away. I ran across to our neighbor’s house and ask him for help. Thank God he had the skill and tools to remove the door knob!

When the door was opened. Zach’s stress was so evident. He was crying and sweating and how on earth did he manage to take his shirt off? Oh, Lord, You are good!!

To go over my other stories quickly… so the first bathroom was the one in the studio and the second bathroom, in our current home. Both times, Eric was there to break the knobs. If Eric was not home in both or in any of the instances, well, I don’t know… But here’s what I’m sure of – God is in control!

God, thank You for everything!!!!!

 

Locked Doors? God is in control!

Leave a comment